Scientific Founder

Wafik El-Deiry, M.D., Ph.D., FACP

Wafik El-Deiry is the scientific founder of Oncoceutics. It was in his research laboratory at Pennsylvania State University that the novel discovery was made that ONC201, the company’s lead molecule, shows unexpected activity against human cancer and has a unique mechanism of action that explains broad anti-tumor activity. Dr. El-Deiry became the Deputy Cancer Center Director for Translational Research and Co-Program Leader in Molecular Therapeutics at Fox Chase Cancer Center as of October 2014. He is one of 40 active American Cancer Society Research Professors and is also a Professor of Medical Oncology at Fox Chase. He earned his M.D. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Miami School of Medicine, completed an internal medicine residency at the Johns Hopkins Hospital and oncology fellowship training at the Johns Hopkins Oncology Center in Baltimore. Dr. El-Deiry served as Professor of Medicine, Genetics, and Pharmacology at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine from 1994 to 2010, and was co-Leader of the Radiation Biology and Imaging Program at the Abramson Cancer Center from 2004-2010. He served as the Rose Dunlap Professor of Medicine and Chief of the Hematology/Oncology Division at Penn State College of Medicine and the Penn State Hershey Cancer Institute, where he was Associate Director for Translational Research and Program Leader of Experimental Therapeutics from 2010-2014. He served as Interim Cancer Center Director at Penn State in 2013-2014. Dr. El-Deiry is a member of several national physician honor societies including the Interurban Clinical Club started by Sir William Osler in 1905 (President 2013-2014), the American Society of Clinical Investigation and the Association of American Physicians. He is a Fellow of the American College of Physicians. He is a practicing physician-scientist who specializes in colorectal cancer treatment and leads several clinical trials for this patient population. In 2014, Dr. El-Deiry was elected as a member of the Johns Hopkins University Society of Scholars.